Toddler Backpack

I finished this Toddler Backpack a couple of weeks ago. It’s made using the pattern from Made by Rae, and the fabric is Echino by Etsuko Furuya which I had bought especially for this project from The Eternal Maker at Alexandra Palace.

I sat up watching silly teen films until 4am and managed to get the whole thing finished in one night. I had already cut out most of the pieces before, and only started at around 10.30pm so it didn’t take too long in all. The binding is by no means perfect but overall I’m really pleased with it, and more importantly, so is my son. It’s usually loaded to the brim with Thomas and other engines.

I plan to line the bag according to the recent pattern add-on provided by Rae. The instructions are very clear and easy to follow – the only modification was to use fusible interfacing on all pieces. This made the straps a bit difficult to sew to the bag clasps, but I managed it after a bit of battling with all the layers.

 

I have plans for another one in a different colour of the same print for his cousin (a girl) – they are great friends and will look so cute in the summer with their bags!

3 thoughts on “Toddler Backpack

Leave a Reply

