Lilac Baby Dress

This dress, from Anna Maria Horner’s Handmade Beginnings book, amazingly only took one day to cut out and make. It would have taken even less time if I hadn’t messed up and cut out a smaller pattern piece for the skirt thus running out of fabric and having to patch together pieces the right size for the back!

The fabric is Little Folks, the line I used for this quilt (which is basically finished, I will photograph soon!). It’s ideal for making baby clothes, as its so light and silky, but at the same time machine washable. I thought about lining the skirt too but I’m happy with the unlined original version too. It would be cute with a tulle lining too.

I learned how to do French seams which I had been needlessly worried about – I think I had been mixing them up with Hong Kong seams (where bias tape is used to cover the raw edges) and also attaching elastic to the waist using zigzag stitch.

One thought on “Lilac Baby Dress

  1. salaam Atia,
    I just went through your blog, an thoroughly enjoyed it, the pictures and the stuff you do is sooo yummmy! I’m inspired to re-learn using the sewing machine and pick up my forgotten box of yarns! The quilts are soo pretty, I really want to learn how to make one.
    xxx

Leave a Reply

